Symposium FF
Progress in Materials and Devices for Direct Thermal-to-Electric Energy Conversion

Yuzuru MIYAZAKI, Tohoku University, Japan
Viatcheslav ANDREEV, Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, Russia
Hiroaki ANNO, Tokyo University of Science at Yamaguchi, Japan
Graeme R. BLAKE, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Theodorian BORCA-TASCIUC, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Alexander T. BURKOV, Ioffe Institute, Russia
Xavier CRISPIN, Linköping University, Sweden
Anne DAUSCHER, Institut Jean Lamour, France
Davide DONADIO, University of California, Davis, USA
Yaniv GELBSTEIN, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Jiaqing HE, South University of Science Technology of China, China
Woochul KIM, Yonsei University, South Korea
Kunihito KOUMOTO, Nagoya University, Japan
Chia-Jyi LIU, National Changhua University of Education, Taiwan
Ramesh Chandra MALLIK, Indian Institute of Science, India
Donald T. MORELLI, Michigan State University, USA
Takao MORI, NIMS – MANA, Japan
Eckhard MUELLER, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
George S. NOLAS, University of South Florida, USA
Michitaka OHTAKI, Kyushu University, Japan
Anthony POWELL, University of Reading, UK
Xiaoying QIN, Institute of Solid State Physics, CAS, China
Zhifeng REN, University of Houston, USA
Ali SHAKOURI, Purdue University, USA
Ryosuke O. SUZUKI, Hokkaido University, Japan
Ichiro TERASAKI, Nagoya University, Japan
Janusz TOBOLA, AGH University of Science & Technology, Poland
Daniele Maria TRUCCHI, CNR – ISM, Italy
John S. TSE, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Jeff URBAN, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab., USA
Anke WEIDENKAFF, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Krzysztof T. WOJCIECHOWSKI, AGH University of Science & Technology, Poland
Jihui YANG, University of Washington, USA
Jiong YANG, Shanghai University, China
Lidong ZHAO, Beihang University, China
Xinbing ZHAO, Zhejiang University, China
Ernst BAUER, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Laurent CHAPUT, Université de Lorraine, France
Alejandro DATAS, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain / Alessandro BELLUCCI, CNR-ISM, Rome, Italy
Anne DAUSCHER, Institut Jean Lamour, France
Marco FORNARI, Central Michigan University, USA
David FUKS, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Yuri GRIN, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany
Tsutomu KANNO, Panasonic Co.Ltd., Japan
Maarit KARPPINEN, Aalto University, Finland
Woochul KIM, Yonsei University, South Korea
Victor I. KUZNETSOV, Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, Russia
Theodora KYRATSI, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Bertrand LENOIR / Christophe CANDOLFI, Université de Lorraine, France
Qiang LI, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
Georg MADSEN, Vienna Technical University, Austria
Takao MORI, NIMS - MANA, Japan
Eckhard MUELLER/Johannes DE BOOR, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
Shinji MUNETOH, Kyushu University, Japan
Dario NARDUCCI, University of Milano Bicocca, Italy
Michihiro OHTA, AIST, Japan
Ichiro TERASAKI, Nagoya University, Japan
Konstantinos TERMENTZIDIS, CNRS, INSA of Lyon, France
Janusz TOBOLA, AGH University of Science & Technology, Poland
Anke WEIDENKAFF, University of Stuttgart, Germany
This symposium will explore state-of-the-art thermoelectric, thermionic and thermophotovoltaic materials and technologies for direct thermal-to-electrical energy conversion. Material and device designs directed to optimise efficiency and cost/performance aspects of direct thermal-to-electrical conversion will be enlightened with emphasis on tailoring electrical, thermal and optical properties to the demand of applications.
Focus will be on direct conversion into electricity of the waste heat emitted by a number of sources such as industrial furnaces, power plants, automobile exhausts and geothermal heat sources as well, and the solar thermal energy. Covered will be materials issues such as: theoretical studies on band structure, crystal chemistry, transport properties, energy transfer processes, etc.; novel synthesis and processing routes for polycrystalline and single crystal bulk materials, nanostructured materials,
3-D architectures, composites and nanocomposites; low dimensionality structures such as thin films, superlattices, quantum dots and nanofibers; advanced characterisation of electrical, optical, thermal and mechanical properties. Device design and performance and system integration will also be enlightened for ongoing or forthcoming applications in direct thermal-to-electrical energy conversion technologies. Emerging ideas and proposal studies of novel concepts for direct thermal-to-electrical energy conversion working in tandem with other energy conversion technologies (i.e. fuel cells, PV-TE hybrid systems, etc.) will be interesting topics to enrich the debate.
Session Topics

FF-1 Theoretical concepts and basic approaches for high efficiency thermal-to-electrical energy conversion

  • Band structure
  • Crystal chemistry
  • Transport properties
  • Energy transfer processes
  • Modeling and simulation

FF-2 Novel materials for high efficiency thermal-to-electrical energy conversion

  • New thermoelectric compounds
  • Nano-composite and nanostructured thermoelectric materials
  • Materials for thermionic applications
  • Emitter materials and PV diode materials for thermophotovoltaics
  • Functionally graded materials
  • Structural and mechanical characterisation
  • Process modeling and simulation
  • New testing methods

FF-3 Devices technologies and applications for thermoelectrics, thermionics, and thermophotovoltaics

  • Device design, fabrication, integration and testing
  • Cost/performance and reliability issues
  • System simulation and demonstration
  • Novel and emerging approaches for thermal-to-electrical conversion systems
  • Commercialisation and market prospects


Cimtec 2018

Piva 03368230409
Phone +39 0546 22461 - Fax +39 0546 664138
Corso Mazzini 52 48018 - Faenza (RA) - Italy
Privacy Policy - Software Commercio Elettronico by